Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering



EMAIL: aaz@rice.edu
PHONE: 713-348-4749
OFFICE: Duncan Hall 2017

Personal Web Page


Behnaam Aazhang

J.S. Abercrombie Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rice Center for Neuroengineering Director, Rice Center for Neuroengineering


1981, B.S. Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1983, M.S. Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1986, Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Communication theory, information theory, and their applications to wireless communication with a focus on the interplay of communication systems and networks; including network coding, user cooperation, spectrum sharing, and opportunistic access.

Signal processing, information processing, and their applications to neuro-engineering with foci on (i) modeling neuronal circuits connectivity and the impact of learning on connectivity (ii) real-time closed-loop stabilization of neuronal systems to mitigate disorders such as epilepsy, Parkinson, depression, and obesity.


Data ScienceNeuroengineeringSystems 


Behnaam Aazhang received his B.S. (with highest honors), M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1981, 1983, and 1986, respectively. From 1981 to 1985, he was a Research Assistant in the Coordinated Science Laboratory, University of Illinois. In August 1985, he joined the faculty of Rice University, Houston, Texas, where he is now the J.S. Abercrombie Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He was Department Chair of Rice Electrical and Computer Engineering from 2004-2014. In addition, he holds an Academy of Finland Distinguished Visiting Professorship appointment (FiDiPro) at the University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland. He was the founding director of Rice's Center for Multimedia Communications from 1998 till 2006. He has been a Visiting Professor at IBM Federal Systems Company, Houston, Texas, the Laboratory for Communication Technology at Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, Switzerland, the Telecommunications Laboratory at University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland, the U.S. Air Force Phillips Laboratory, Albuquerque, New Mexico, and at Nokia Mobile Phones in Irving, Texas. 

His research interests are in the areas of communication theory, information theory, and their applications with emphasis on wireless communications, cellular mobile radio networks, wireless local area networks. Dr. Aazhang is a Fellow of IEEE, a distinguished lecturer of IEEE Communication Society from 2005-2008, and also a recipient of 2004 IEEE Communication Society's Stephen O. Rice Best Paper Award for a paper with A. Sendonaris and E. Erkip. He has been listed in the Thomson-ISI Highly Cited Researchers and has been keynote and plenary speaker of several conferences. Dr. Aazhang is a recipient of the Alcoa Foundation Award 1993, the NSF Engineering Initiation Award 1987-1989, and the IBM Graduate Fellowship 1984-1985, and is a member of Tau Beta Pi and Eta Kappa Nu. He served as the General co-chair of 2010 IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory (ISIT), in Austin, Texas. He has served on Houston Mayor's Commission on Cellular Towers 1998-2004, as the Editor for Spread Spectrum Networks of IEEE Transactions on Communications 1993-1998, the Treasurer of IEEE Information Theory Society 1995-1998, the Secretary of the Information Theory Society 1990-1993, the Publications Chairman of the 1993 IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory, San Antonio, Texas, the co-chair of the Technical Program Committee of 2001 Multi-Dimensional and Mobile Communication (MDMC) Conference in Pori, Finland, the chair of the Technical Program Committee for 2005 Asilomar Conference, Monterey, CA, the co-chair of the Technical Program Committee of International Workshop on Convergent Technologies (IWCT), Oulu, Finland, June 6-10, 2005, guest editor for IEEE Journal on Selected Areas of Communication special issue on relay and cooperative communication in 2006 and for KICS Journal of Communication and Network (JCN) special issue on cooperative communication in 2007, and the general chair of the 2006 Communication Theory Workshop, Dorado, Puerto Rico. Dr. Aazhang served as Technical Program co-Chair for Wireless Personal Multimedia Communication Symposium (WPMC) in Lapland Finland, September 2008.


2013 IEEE Communication Society Award for Advances in Communication
2012 Fellow of American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS)
2005-2008 IEEE Communication Society Distinguished Lecturer
2004 IEEE Communication Society Stephen O. Rice Best Paper Award
2003-present Listed in the Thomson-ISI Highly Cited Researchers
1999 Fellow of Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)


Google Scholar
Short Courses and General Overview


2015-2020 Helmsley Trust: Vertically Integrated Projects (with Ed Coyle at Georgia Tech)
2014-2017 NSF (SCH): Exploring Sparsity and Spectral-Temporal Decomposition in Real-Time Network Modulation for Intractable Epilepsy (with Nitin Tandon)
2014-2019 NSF (IGERT): Neuroengineering: from cells to systems (co-PI with Dora Angelaki at Baylor College of Medicine)
2014-2017 NSF (CIF Medium): Interference-Aware Cooperation via Structured Codes: Creating an Empirical Cycle (with B. Nazer at BU and K. Narayanan at Texas A&M)