Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Advancement Committee focuses on aggressive vision for electrical & computer engineering 

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering welcomed seven distinguished individuals from industry and academia to a newly formed ECE department advisory board in 2006. "The department has a high national ranking, research expenditures are growing, and the faculty is quite active and visible, nationally and internationally," said Behnaam Aazhang, ECE department chair. "Our challenge is to break into the upper tier of the top-10 ranking and to position the department for the future growth that President Leebron anticipates for Rice University. The newly renamed Advancement Committee is an outstanding group of accomplished individuals with a particular affinity for Rice ECE. With the committee's guidance, we can take an already great department to the next level."
The current Advancement Committee members include:


Rob Calderbank (image-tiny)  Dean Rob Calderbank, NAE
Dean of Natural Sciences, Professor of CS, EE, Math
Duke University

Mark Dankberg (image-tiny)  Mark Dankberg (Rice BSEE 1977, MEE 1977)
Chairman & CEO

Tim Denison (image)  Tim Denison 
Director of Neuronengineering

Claire Gmachl (image)  Claire Gmachl 
Eugene Higgins Professor of Electrical Engineering; Director of MIRTHE (NSF-ERC)
Princeton University

John Jaggers (image)  John Jaggers, Rice Board of Trustees (Rice BSEE 1973, MEE 1973)
General Partner
Sevin Rosen Funds

PR Kumar (Image)  P.R. Kumar, NAE
Professor and College of Engineering Chair in Computer Engineering
Texas A&M University

Michal Lipson (image)  Michal Lipson, MacArthur Genius Award 
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Cornell University

Margaret Murnane (image)  Margaret Murnane, NAS 
JILA Fellow; Professor of Physics and Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Colorado

Partha Ranganathan (Image)  Partha Ranganathan (Rice MS 1997, PhD 2001)
Principal Engineer

Steve Sheafor (image-tiny)  Dr. Steve Sheafor (Rice BA Econ/Math 1972, MEE 1972)
Chief Technical Advisor

Len Srnka (image-tiny)  Dr. Len Srnka
Chief Research Geoscientist
ExxonMobil Upstream Research

Turner Whitted (image-tiny)  Dr. Turner Whitted, NAE
Principal Researcher
Microsoft Research