Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering

ECE Alumni Hall of Fame

The ECE Alumni Hall of Fame is where we acknowledge the outstanding contributions and achievements of colleagues throughout industry and academia.  It is an honor to have continued the relationship with each of these individuals in the classroom, as guest lecturers, in research, and through industry partnerships.  Our hope is that you will visit this site often to learn more about the great accomplishments of Rice electrical and computer engineering graduates.

C. Sidney Burrus (image-tiny)  C. Sidney Burrus (Rice BA 1957, BSEE 1958, MSEE 1960)
Maxfield & Oshman Professor Emeritus of Engineering
Rice University

Mark Dankberg (image-tiny)  Mark Dankberg  (Rice BSEE 1977, MEE 1977)
Chairman & CEO

John Doerr (tiny)  John Doerr (Rice BSEE 1973, MSEE 1974)
Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Doug Jones (image-tiny)  Doug L. Jones (Rice BSEE 1983, MSEE 1986, PhD 1987)
ECE Department, Coordinated Science Lab, Beckman Institute
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Narayan Mandayam (image-tiny)  Narayan Mandayam (Rice MSEE 1991, PhD 1994)
ECE Department, WINLAB
Rutgers University

Arun Netravali (image-tiny)  Arun Narayan Netravali (Rice MSEE 1969, PhD 1971)
Managing Partner
OmniCapital Group

 Sarah Rajala (image-tiny)  Sarah Rajala (MSEE 1977, PhD 1979)
Dean of Engineering
Iowa State university


 Partha Ranganathan (image-tiny)  Partha Ranganathan (MSEE 1997, PhD 2000)
Principal Engineer


Chaitali Sengupta (image-small)  Chaitali Sengupta (MSEE 1995, PhD 1999)
Vice President
Reliance Jio Infocomm, USA


John Treichler (image-tiny)  John Treichler (BAEE 1970, MEE 1970)
Chief Technical Officer
Raytheon Applied Signal Techology


  mahesh3  Mahesh Varanasi (MSEE 1987, PhD 1989)
ECE Department
University Colorado at Boulder