Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Faculty IEEE Fellows 

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is proud to have a number of IEEE fellows among our faculty and alumni.

The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. A brief citation is issued to new Fellows describing their accomplishments and the total number selected in any one year does not exceed one-tenth percent of the total voting Institute membership. 

Current Faculty

Aazhang (thumb) 

Behnaam Aazhang, J.S. Abercrombie Professor and Chair, ECE Department
"for contributions to multi-user wideband digital cellular communications"  

Antoulas (thumb)  A.C. Antoulas, Professor
"for contributions to the theory of linear system realization"
Baraniuk (thumb) 

Richard G. Baraniuk, Victor E. Cameron Professor in Engineering
"for contributions to the development of techniques for time-frequency and multiscale analysis" 

Clark (thumb) 

John W Clark (Life Fellow), Professor
"for contributions to modeling in electrophysiology, and cardiopulmonary systems" 

Halas (thumb) 

Naomi J. Halas, Stanley C. Moore Professor; Director, Laboratory for Nanophotonics; Professor, Bioengineering
"for contributions to metallic nanoshells and nanoparticles with tailorable optical properties and applications in biotechnology and chemical sensing" 

Knightly (thumb) 

Edward W. Knightly, Professor
"for contributions to multi-hop wireless networks" 

Mittleman (thumb) 

Daniel Mittleman, Professor
"for contributions to terahertz radiation imaging, sensing, and spectroscopy" 

Orchard (thumb) 

Michael T. Orchard, Professor
"for contributions to the theory and development of image and video compression algorithms" 

Simar (thumb) 

Ray Simar, Professor in the Practice
"for leadership in digital signal processor architecture development" 

Tittel (thumb) 

 Frank K. Tittel (Life Fellow), J.S. Abercrombie Professor; Professor of Bioengineering
"for contributions to the development of excimer lasers and tunable lasers for high-resolution spectroscopy" 

Emeritus Faculty

Charles S. Burrus (Life Fellow)
"for contributions to signal processing and electrical engineering education" 

Don H. Johnson, J.S. Abercrombie Professor Emeritus
"for contributions to the modeling of auditory systems and to array processing methods" 

J. Robert Jump (Life Fellow)
"for contributions to the theory and design of interconnection networks for parallel computer systems" 

James Forest Young
"for engineering contributions to the development of ultraviolet and vacuum ultraviolet coherent sources of radiation