Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering


Sarah Rajala (MS '77, PhD '79) named College of Engineering Dean at Iowa State University (December 2012) 

Mark Davenport (BSEE '04, MSEE '07, PhD '10) to start as Assistant Professor at Georgia Tech in Fall 2012 (April 2012)
Rice engineering loses a friend in Hershel Rich (March 2012)
Alums Jeff Bishop ('04) and Rizia Bardhan ('10) both named to Forbes Magazine's "30 Under 30" (December 2011)
Robert Flatt (BSEE '69, MEE '70) profiled on his life and career (October 2011)
ECE Alum Alysha Jeans (BSEE '10) speaks at White House for 21st anniversary of ADA (July 2011)
Courtney Lane (BSEE '96) named Director of Clinical Strategy and Science at Boston Scientific (June 2011)
Ramesh Neelamani (MS '99, PhD '03) receives SEG J. Clarence Karcher Award (May 2011)
Alum Scott Noel (Rice BS ECE/ManaStud '02, MEE/MBA '04) builds schools in Uganda (April 2011)
Alum Shamoor Anis (BSEE '10) named Fish & Richardson 2011 1L Diversity Fellow (April 2011)
ECE Alum Partha Ranganathan (MSEE 1997, PhD 2000) featured in New York Times:Science, 2.28.11
Rebecca Willett (MS '02, PhD '05) Wins Air Force Young Investigator Research Program Grant (November 2010)
Alumnus Tory Gattis '91 is mentioned in an article about tech start-ups in Houston, 9.30.10
Justin Romberg (BSEE '97, MS '99, PhD '04) named 2010 REA Outstanding Young Alumnus (August 2010)
Sarah Rajala (MSEE 1977, PhD 1979) recipient of 2010-12 Phi Kappa Phi Scholar Award (August 2010)
Former ECE/DSP Postdoc Jarvis Haupt is now an Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota (August 2010)
Rice Engineering Alumni officers, board announced (June 2010)
Alum Shay Har-Noy '04 rises to the challenge (May 2010)
Alum Robert Bishop (PhD '90) lands engineering dean post at Marquette University (March 2010)
Robert Flatt (BSEE '69, MEE '70) is featured in the Rice Centennial Campaign (January 2010)
Justin Romberg (BSEE ‘97, MSEE '99, PhD '04) Receives Prestigious Packard Fellowship, 10.22.09
Burton McMurtry (Rice BA '56, BSEE '57) featured in Rich Thresher article on new colleges, 8.21.09
ECE/DSP Alum Justin Romberg wins Presidential Early Career Award (July 2009)
ECE Grad Students and Alumni create open-access journal for rejected papers, 7.15.09
Scott Steger (BS '08) receives NSF Graduate Fellowship (June 2009)
C. Sidney Burrus (Rice BA 1957, BSEE 1958, MSEE 1960) - 2009 recipient of the IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal, 6.25.09
Tim Dehne (BSEE '87), longtime National Instruments executive, joins ASSET's Board of Directors (June 2009)
DSP architecture expert Ray Simar (MS '83) returns to Rice as a Professor in the Practice (June 2009)
Peter C. Ku '85 and John Treichler '70 join the Association of Rice Alumni Board (May 2009)
Bobak Anthony Nazer (BSEE '03) receives Berkeley's Outstanding Thesis Award (May 2009)
Rice Professor Naomi Halas, alum and benefactor John Doerr elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences, 4.23.09
ECE Alum Roger Pease (MEE '02) Receives IEEE Young Engineer Award, 2.15.09
EE Alum Maya Gupta (BSEE '97) receives a 2007 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, 12.18.08
John (BSEE '73, MEE '74) and Ann (BSEE '75, MEE '76) Doerr give Rice University $15 million to redesign education of engineers, 11.7.08
Partha Ranganathan (MS '97, PhD '00) named 2008 REA Outstanding Young Alumnus
Rob Butera (MS '94, PhD '96) selected by U.S. State Department as Jefferson Science Fellow for 2008-09, 10.6.08
RedOrbit.com: Alum Sarah Rajala (MS '77, PhD '79) is featured for her career in engineering, 9.24.08
Rui Castro (PhD '08) joins engineering faculty at Columbia University, 9.14.08
Fulbright scholarship winner Jonah Shaver heads to France to expand nanotechnology research, 7.10.08
Gary Woods (BSEE '88) named Professor in the Practice of Computer Technology at Rice, 7.1.08
Geoffrey Orsak (BSEE '85, MSEE '86, PhD '90) appointed to the National Petroleum Council, 7.1.08
Alum Sarah Rajala (MS '77, PhD '79) has been named first woman dean of Mississippi State University's Bagley College of Engineering, 6.4.08
Hindustan Times: Alum Vinay Ribeiro (MS '99, PhD '05) quoted on India's "reverse brain drain", 4.12.08
InternetNews Realtime IT News - AMD's Ruiz: A Soft-Spoken But Determined Leader, 4.4.08
Richard Averitt (MS '94, PhD '98) receives DARPA Award for innovation in terahertz technology, 3.20.08
ECE Alum Justin Romberg (BS '97, MS '99, PhD '04) wins Office of Naval Research Young Investigators Award, 3.18.08
Twenty years later, pranksters donate more than $138,000 for student innovation awards, 4.4.08
Rice ECE alumnus Aleksandar Kuzmanovic wins NSF CAREER Award, 2.6.08
ECE Alum Partha Ranganathan named to TR35, 9.07
Richard Massey (BA '53, BS '54) and Chaitali Sengupta (MS '95, PhD '99) named 2007 REA Outstanding Alumni
Hector Ruiz (PhD '73) and J. Patrick Frantz (MEE '97) named 2006 REA Outstanding Alumni
Tim Dehne (EE '87) - 2005 REA Outstanding Young Engineering Alumnus