Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Electrical and Computer Engineering
 
 

Adjunct Faculty
An adjunct professor is typically an individual from another institution whose scholarly or professional activities enrich and complement Rice programs and interests. All adjunct appointments may initially be for up to two years and may be renewed in increments of up to three years. They do not involve tenure or remuneration and carry no voting rights at faculty meetings.
Dora Angelaki
Baylor College of Medicine
dora.angelaki@rice.edu 
  Mekhail Anwar
University of California, San Francisco
mekhail.anwar@rice.edu 
Akhil Bidani
University of Houston
akhil.bidani@rice.edu 
  Michael Brogioli
Polymathic Consulting
brogioli@rice.edu 
John H. Byrne
UT Medical School
john.h.byrne@rice.edu 
  Thomas Cronin
Univ Maryland - Baltimore County
thomas.w.cronin@rice.edu 
Anand Dabak
Texas Instruments
anand.dabak@rice.edu
  Clifford Dacso
Baylor College of Medicine
clifford.c.dacso.md@rice.edu 
Chris Dick
Xilinx
christopher.h.dick@rice.edu 
  Daniel DiLorenzo
UTMB
Daniel.J.DiLorenzo@rice.edu  
David Eaglema
Baylor College of Medicine
david.m.eagleman@rice.edu 
  Zheyu Fang
Peking University
zheyu.fang@rice.edu 
 
Omer Gurewitz
Ben Gurion University
gurewitz@rice.edu 
  Roger Hanlon
Marine Biological Lab
roger.t.hanlon@rice.edu 
Thomas L. Harman
Univ. of Houston - Clear Lake
harman@rice.edu 
  Amit Joshi
Baylor College of Medicine
amit.joshi@rice.edu 
Markku Juntti
University of Oulu
markku.j.juntti@rice.edu 
  Giridhar Kalamangalam
University of Texas Health / TMC
giridhar.kalamangalam@rice.edu 
Dirar Khoury
Baylor College of Medicine
dirar.khoury@rice.edu 
 
  Matti Latva-aho
University of Oulu
matti.s.latva-aho@rice.edu 
Jorma Lilleberg
Renessas Mobile Europe, Finland
jorma@rice.edu 
 
  Yehia Massoud
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
massoud@rice.edu 
Martin Moskovits
University of California, Santa Barbara
moskovitslab@gmail.com 
  Robert Nowak
Univ. of Wisconsin - Madison
nowak@rice.edu 
Arvind Rao Uppore Kukkillaya
MD Anderson Cancer Center
arvind.rao@rice.edu 
  Aswin Sankaranarayanan
Carnegie Mellon University
saswin@rice.edu 
Stephan Schwanauer
OpenStax College
Stephan.M.Schwanauer@rice.edu 
  Sanjay Shakkottai 
University of Texas at Austin
Sanjay.Shakkottai@rice.edu 
Steve Sheafor
Ambiq Micro / Kozio
sheafor@rice.edu 
  Gennady Shvets
University of Texas at Austin
shvets@rice.edu 
Christoph Studer
studer@rice.edu 
  Nitin Tandon
Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center
nitil.tandon@rice.edu 
Thanh Tran
Halliburton/Abercrombie A231
tttran@rice.edu 
  Venu Vasudevan
Motorola
vanu.vasudevan@rice.edu 
Stephen Wong
The Methodist Hospital
stephen.t.wong@rice.edu 
 
  Gerard Wysocki
Princeton University
gerardw@rice.edu 
Qianfan Xu
Adjunct Assistant Professor.
qianfan@rice.edu
 
   

Professors Emeriti on campus
 
C. Sidney Burrus
Abercrombie A223, x5484
csb@rice.edu 
  Don H. Johnson
Abercrombie A205, x4956
dhj@rice.edu 
James F. Young
Abercrombie A206, x4721
young@rice.edu 
   
Lecturers 
Osama Mawlawi
(M.D. Anderson)
omawlawi@mdanderson.org 
  Sydney Poland
sydney.w.poland@rice.edu 
Bart Sinclair
DH1008, x6324
bs@rice.edu 
  J.D. Wise
Abercrombie A132, x4073
jdw@rice.edu